Teachers & Educators on the Ballot

List of Indiana Teachers & Educators Running for State and National Offices  

Educators want a voice in education policy. There are many teachers, educators, superintendents and school board members (current and former) running for elected office this year.  ICPE is a 501c4 organization. We do not, however, endorse individual candidates. We strongly urge our friends to look at our legislative report card, make their own choices, and #VotePublicEd.

Below is the list broken down into three categories: Indiana House of Representatives, Indiana Senate and U.S. House of Representatives.


Candidates for Indiana House of Representatives 

House District 2
Earl L. Harris, Jr. (Incumbent, unopposed)
Former teacher
Indianapolis Public Schools

House District 4
Debora “Deb” Porter
Elementary music teacher
Portage Township Schools

House District 14
Vernon Smith (Incumbent, unopposed)
Former teacher and principal, Gary Public Schools
Professor of Education, Indiana University Northwest

House District 16
Michael Lovely
French teacher
Kankakee Valley School Corp.

House District 17
Bianka Tinklenberg
Second grade teacher
Menominee Elementary School

House District 27
Shiela Klinker (Incumbent)
Former teacher in Lafayette School Corporation

House District 30
Dylan McHenry
Allen Elementary School

House District 33
Julie Morgan Snider
Public school teacher

House District 35
Melanie Wright (Incumbent)
K-6 Music teacher
Daleville Community School

House District 36
Terri Jo Austin (Incumbent)
Adjunct Professor, School of Education, Anderson University
Former teacher, Anderson Community School Corporation

House District 38
Tom Hedde
Special ed and math teacher
Kokomo Maplecrest Middle School

House District 43
Tonya Pfaff (incumbent)
Math teacher
North Vigo

House District 50
Jorge Fernandez
High school science teacher
Manchester Community Schools

House District 59
Dale Nowlin
Mathematics chair
Columbus North High School

House District 60
Tiffany Grant
Math teacher
MSD Martinsville

House District 62
Alyssa Bailey
Special education teacher
White River Valley Elementary School

House District 63
Teresa Kendall
Art teacher & education technology specialist (retired)
Lebanon and Indianapolis schools

House District 64
Ian Gamroth
Fifth grade teacher
Princeton Community Intermediate School

House District 66
Terry Goodin (Incumbent)
Public school superintendent

House District 72
Erica Lawrence
Teacher, counselor, assistant principal, principal
Jefferson County Public Schools

House District 75
John Hurley
Technology teacher
South Spencer High School

House District 83
Michael Bienz
English teacher
Fort Wayne Community Schools


Candidates for Indiana Senate

Senate District 9
Brandon Cavanaugh
GEC teacher
Warsaw Community Schools

Senate District 16
Juli Dominguez
High School Teacher
Fort Wayne Community Schools/North Side

Senate District 18
Laura Fred-Smith
Middle school science teacher
Logansport Community Schools

Senate District 44
Cynthia Wirth
Middle school science teacher
Logansport Community Schools

Candidates for U.S. House of Representatives

Congressional District 3
Chip Coldiron
Science teacher
Norwell High School


Not a member? Donate and join today!

Questions? Contact us at info@indianacoalitionforpubliced.org

Join / Renew

Pin It on Pinterest